The Jays Day Care Nursery Logo The Jays Day Care Nursery Logo The Jays Day Care Nursery Tel Tel black large Facebook square blue large

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by The Jays Nursery and Pre-School helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are right for their age and stage of development.


Here at The Jays Nursery and Pre-School we follow the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.  


This is broken down in to 4 themes underpinning the 3 prime and 4 specific areas of learning:


• Personal, Social and Emotional Development


• Communication and language


• Physical development


• Mathematics


• Understanding the world


• Literacy


• Expressive arts and design



For each area, the guidance sets out early learning goals. These goals states what is expected that children will know and be able to do by the end of the reception year of their education.


For each learning goal, the guidance sets out stepping stones, which describes the stages through which children are likely to pass as they move to achievement of the goal. The Jays Nursery uses the early learning goals and their stepping stones to help us to trace each child's progress and to enable us to provide the right activities to help all of the children move towards achievement of the early learning goals.

Foundation Stage